2012 Ignatz Award Nominees Announced

The Ignatz Awards are awarded in conjunction with September’s Small Press Expo, scheduled for September 15-16. The Ignatz Awards, named for the character in the classic comic strip Krazy Kat by George Herriman, is a festival prize that recognizes outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning. The ballot is created by a panel of five cartoonists and is voted on by the attendees of the SPX festival. This year’s panel was Edie Flake, Minty Lewis, Julia Wertz, Dylan Meconis and Lark Pien. SPX attendees vote on the finalists.

Looking over the list confirms what I have been saying: we are living in a time of unbelievable quality and talent in comics.

Outstanding Artist
* Marc Bell – Pure Pajamas (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Inés Estrada – Ojitos Borrosos (Self-published)
* Jaime Hernandez – Love and Rockets New Stories (Fantagraphics)
* Craig Thompson – Habibi (Pantheon)
* Matthew Thurber – 1 800 Mice (Picturebox)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
* Big Questions – Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Hark! A Vagrant – Kate Beaton (Drawn & Quarterly)
* The Man Who Grew His Beard – Olivier Schrauwen (Fantagraphics)
* Nobrow #6 – Various artists (Nobrow)
* Ojitos Borrosos РIn̩s Estrada (Self-published)

Outstanding Graphic Novel
* Big Questions by Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)
* Harvey Pekar’s Cleveland by Harvey Pekar and Joseph Remnant (Top Shelf)
* My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf (Abrams ComicArts)
* Troop 142 by Mike Dawson (Secret Acres)
* A Zoo In Winter by Jiro Taniguchi (Fanfare/Ponent Mon)

Outstanding Story
* 1 800 Mice by Matthew Thurber (Picturebox)
* “Keith or Steve,” Mome #22, by Nick Drnaso (Fantagraphics)
* Lucille by Ludovic Debeurme (Top Shelf)
* “Return to Me,” Love & Rockets New Stories #4, by Jaime Hernandez (Fantagraphics)
* “The Weeper,” Papercutter #17, by Jason Martin and Jesse Reklaw (Tugboat Press)

Promising New Talent
* Lauren Barnett – Me Likes You Very Much (Hic & Hoc Publications)
* Clara Besijelle – The Lobster King (Self-published)
* Tessa Brunton – Passage (Sparkplug Books)
* Lila Quintero Weaver – Dark Room: A Memoir in Black and White (University of Alabama Press)
* Lale Westvind – Hot Dog Beach (Self-published)

Outstanding Series
* Black Mass by Patrick Kyle (Mother Books)
* EOTMC by Leslie Stein (Self-published)
* Ganges by Kevin Huizenga (Fantagraphics)
* Love and Rockets New Stories by The Hernandez Brothers (Fantagraphics)
* Pope Hats by Ethan Rilly (AdHouse Books)

Outstanding Comic
* Hot Dog Beach #2 by Lale Westvind (Self-published)
* Passage by Tessa Brunton (Sparkplug Books)
* Pterodactyl Hunters by Brendan Leach (Top Shelf)
* The Sixth Gun #17 by Brian Hurtt and Cullen Bunn (Oni Press)
* Pope Hats #2 by Ethan Rilly (AdHouse Books)

Outstanding Mini-Comic
* The Death of Elijah Lovejoy by Noah Van Sciver (2D Cloud)
* Hypnotic Induction Technique by Grant Reynolds (Self-published)
* The Monkey in the Basement and Other Delusions by Corinne Mucha (Retrofit Comics)
* Ramble On #2 by Calvin Wong (Self-published)
* RAV #6 by Mickey Zacchilli (Self-published)

Special guests at this year’s SPX include Daniel Clowes, and Jamie & Gilbert Hernandez.

This entry was posted in news and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>