Glyph Award Nominations Due Tomorrow!

GlyphThe deadline for submissions for the Glyph awards is tomorrow, Thursday, January 31. Hardcopy submissions must be postmarked by that date, and electronic entries must be received by midnight that evening.

Any comics publisher – small, large, corporate, independent, self-published – as well as online comic creators and cartoonists for newspapers and other periodicals, are invited to submit Black-themed material released from January 1-December 31, 2012 for consideration for award recognition. The Committee defines Black-themed work as any comic with any combination of the following: a Black protagonist(s), or at least a Black character(s) pivotal to the direction of the story; a setting(s) or a theme(s) that explores the Black experience within the United States and/or abroad, past, present, and/or future; and/or a comic of any kind written and/or illustrated by a Black creator(s).

Anyone wishing to submit their comic book or comic strip for consideration in the 2013 competition should e-mail GCA Committee Chair Pamela Thomas,, for further information. Hard copies are preferred, though submissions of e-files will also be accepted. Online comic creators and newspaper/periodical cartoonists with websites should send a direct URL link to their site or page. Daily cartoonists must have a minimum of one month’s work archived and available for viewing; weekly cartoonists a minimum of two months. The deadline: submissions must be postmarked by Thursday, January 31, 2013.

The awards will be announced Friday, May 17, 2013, in Philadelphia, PA, at a ceremony held as part of ECBACC, The East Coast Black Age of Comics Convention. Judges this year are:

  • Maurice Waters, owner and operator of
  • Hannibal Tabu, review columnist at Comic Book Resources
  • Eric Deggans, TV and media critic, Tampa Bay Times
  • Omar Bilal, owner and operator of Museum of Black Superheroes
  • Johanna Draper Carlson, owner and operator of

Categories for submission include:

  • Story of the Year
  • Best Writer
  • Best Artist
  • Best Male Character
  • Best Female Character
  • Rising Star Award
  • Best Cover
  • Best Comic Strip or Webcomic
  • Best Reprint Publication
  • Fan Award For Best Comic
This entry was posted in news and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>